Saturday, March 12, 2011

My Tonsillectomy: Day 3

So, as I was saying at the end of my last post...

Day 3 didn't get off to the best start. I thought for sure yesterday was going to be the day I had been warned about. I woke up not in pain, but pretty considerable discomfort. During the night I had felt pretty good so I only took half a dose of my pain killer. That was a mistake. I corrected it pretty easily by just taking an advil, but I learned my lesson about the pain killer. That stuff is the key. Keep on it for as long as you need it.

I felt MUCH better once I was caught up on the pain killer. I did awesome on food yesterday. I had some pancakes for breakfast. Those went down nice and easy. Mostly really soft food during the day (mashed potatoes, dark chocolate coconut ice cream), and for dinner (drumroll please...)

Cheese enchiladas with beans and rice!

Awesome!

Didn't hurt to eat. Tasted delicious! :)

I just want to say as a disclaimer here: I am 99% sure I know the combination of reasons that my recovery hasn't been the horror story that other people talk about.

1. I had a GREAT ENT. My ENT was the first guy to drain one of my abscesses and he is an absolute PRO. The key is finding someone who is excellent at what they do. I would not advise just finding whoever will do it. The right doctor will tell you if you need the procedure done.

2. I don't normally take pain killers, so they do wonders for me when I actually take them. I have felt little to no pain since I have been on pain killers. My body doesn't have any bad reactions to them and they really help me. Sorry for those out there without that kind of luck...

3. I already have experienced the worst (throat) pain imaginable. Those of you out there who are getting a tonsillectomy because you have had one or more peritonsillar abscesses drained, this surgery is NOT THAT BAD. If you haven't had a lot of really bad strep or any abscesses this recovery would probably suck. For those who have had an abscess drained, it feels a lot like the day after. Not great but definitely not excruciating pain.


One more quick thing about the recovery. You will be tired no matter what for the first few days and as much as you might not feel terrible REST AT HOME. To give you an idea of the level of exhausted you will be-- I barely made it through a quick dinner out (30 min or so), and I spent most of that sitting. You will be sleeping a lot. Pick a channel you like but don't commit to anything on TV. Go in and out of sleep. You will thank yourself for it.

Day 4 update later on!

1 comment:

Nathalie said...

hey you're coooooooool! glad you're feeling better <3 :)